Konda Reddy Buruju / Konda Reddy Fort
At a distance of 2 kms from Kurnool Railway Station & 24 kms from Alampur, Konda Reddy Buruju, also known as Konda Reddy Fort, is an imposing structure situated in the heart of Kurnool City.
The construction of the fort dates back to 12th century when the city of Kurnool was used as a base for halting before crossing Tungabhadra River. Kurnool was occupied by Vijayanagar ruler Devaraya II and Achyutaraya who suceeded Krishnadevaraya built the initial fort between 1530 to 1542.
The fort has different gateways and bastions. The gateways of the fort were constructed by Gopal Raja, the grandson of Rama Raja of Talikota Vijayanagara kings in 17th century. The fort has three levels and it was used as watch tower in 17th and 18th centuries. The ground level is closed for visitors, while the visitors can climb to the first and second floors and get a glimpse of the history. First level has few enclosures with large portico. Second level houses a large tower used for observation.
The fort is named after Konda Reddy, the last ruler of Alampur who was imprisoned in the fort by the Kurnool Nawab in 17th century. Konda Reddy eventually escaped from the fort, but had to loose his territory to Golconda Nawabs.
Timings: 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM.