Ooty Stone House
At a distance of 1 km from Adams Fountain and 3 km from Ooty Railway Station, the Stone House is an old bungalow in Ooty, Tamil Nadu. It is one of the most significant and ancient monuments of the town and among the prime places to visit as part of Ooty Packages.
The Stone House is the very first bungalow of Ooty built by John Sullivan, then Collector of Coimbatore in 1822. It marks the beginning of the modernization of the city, as its facade is reminiscent of a colonial structure. The mansion is called the stone house because it is completely made of stones. The Toda tribes call the Stone House as Kal Bangala. The word 'Kal' means stone and 'Bangala' means mansion. It is located in an extremely picturesque location, and offers beautiful views of the lush greenery all around, including views of the mountains that stand sentinel around it.
Nestled in the picturesque hills of Nilgiri, the house is soaked in history and architectural beauty. The house was built by the concept of modernization and urbanization in those days, making Britishers using the same technique in other mansions. The mansion features a sloping roof in green. The architecture is simple yet resembles a classic British cottage with a fireplace in the living room. The Stone House is also home to a very old oak tree, probably the oldest in the city and it is known as Sullivan's Oak. Nearby is an artificial lake in L-shape also built by Sullivan himself and is worth visiting. Now it is an official residence of the Principal of the Government Arts College, Ooty.
Timings: 10 AM - 5 PM
Entry: Rs. 5 for Person